Lurkers, let me know who you are

So, there are now “15,001” hits on this blog.  That’s pretty wierd. 

Many of them, surely, were brief stops and never even read them.

But I’ve discovered, in conversations, that there’s a handfull of people who read every now and again and don’t leave me comments.  

I’m not fishing for a bunch of compliments.  I’d just like to know who you are.  If, for whatever reason, you read this blog every now and again but don’t generally comment, I’d appreaciate it if you’d leave a comment to this post.  I won’t put you on the spot.  If you’ve never commented here before it won’t be made public until I approve it.  And if you really just want me to read it and don’t want your comment posted to the world I’ll honor that.

Even if you regularly stop by, perhaps you’d like to answer the following questions.  (Some of the answers, of course, I’ll know.)

Who are you?  Do I know you in the real world?  How did you stumble on my blog?  Any constructive criticism for me in terms of the stuff that you’d like to see more or less of?  How often do you stop by?

Published by

jeffsdeepthoughts

The stories that speak to our soul begin at a home where things are good. Cinderella is happy with her father. The three little pigs have grown up and are ready to move on. Bilbo Baggins knows his shire. Adam and Eve walk with God in the garden. My story isn’t much different. There was a time and a place where it was so good. There was a community for me. And there was joy. We were filled with a sincere desire to do what God wanted us to do. We possessed explanations and understandings that went a certain distance. We offered security and tradition and laughter. For a lot of years, that was enough. I have this sense that it was also necessary. I have this surety, now, that it certainly wasn’t everything. There were some things that became increasingly problematic as time went by. There was a desire to package things up so very neatly. Sunday morning services were efficient and strategic. Responses to differences of opinion were premeditated. Formula began to feel more important than being real. A real desire for everybody to be one of us, but also a real sense that there is an us, and there is a them. They carried a regret that it has to be this way, but deeper than this regret was a surety that this is how it is. I began to recognize that there was a cost of admission to that group. There were people who sat at the door, collecting it. Those people wished they didn’t have to. But I guess they felt like they did have to. They let some people in, and they left others out. There was a provisional membership. My friends did possess a desire to accommodate people that are different… But it would be best for everyone concerned if they were only a little bit different. I did make many steps forward in this place. Before I went there, there were lies that I believed. Some of the things that I learned there, I still hold on to. But that place is not my home anymore. Those people are not my community anymore. There were times it was hard. I am engaged in a different community now. And I am working hard at finding a place in many different places now, embracing many different kind of families. I don’t always get it right. I am trying and I am learning and I am moving foreward. I have this sense that I am not alone in these experiences. I believe that we are tribe and we are growing. We are pilgrims, looking for a new holy land. Perhaps we won’t settle on the same spot of land. But if you’ve read this far, I am thinking that we are probably headed in the same general direction. I have begun this blog to talk about where my journey is taking me. In every space, we find people who help us along. And maybe we can get to know each other, here. We embrace ideas that provide a structure for the things we believe, and perhaps we can share these too. Maybe we can form a group, a tribe, a community, if we can figure out a way to work through the shadow of these kinds of groups, if we can bigger than the us-and-them ideas that have caused so much trouble in the past. As important as they are, I think the very nature of online interactions will lend itself to something equally powerful. I am stumbling onto these practices that my grandfathers and great grandfathers in the faith engaged in. I am learning about these attitudes and intuitions are so different than the kinds of things we call doctrine today. I don’t know about you, but I am running out of patience, and even interest, in conversations about doctrine. I hope that maybe you’ll share a little something about where your journey is taking you, and maybe our common joys and challenges might help each other along, and we might lift each other up. Thanks for doing this journey with me.

9 thoughts on “Lurkers, let me know who you are”

  1. Who are you? Ummm, my name is “jane”.
    Do I know you in the real world? Well, that depends on your definition of “the real world”…My stepdad had his own little definition, and I guess I have mine… so until I know YOURs, I’m not sure I can accurrately answer that question. I spelled acuratly wrong didn’t I?
    How did you stumble on my blog? I think it was your constant emails “notifying” me of your newest endeavor… *giggle
    Any constructive criticism for me in terms of the stuff that you’d like to see more or less of? Dude, could you change the “quote of the week” someday??? And how about your comments about “this is my main blog…blahblahblah…” Or not. Whatever. And on my screen, your site is pink. Is it supposed to be? Seriously??
    How often do you stop by? Apparently not often enough!

    tell your wife that she was my hero tonite…

    Like

  2. Thanks, D.
    You’re right. The quote of the week was old news.
    I found a new one. heh-heh.

    My blog is white on my screen. I’d be interested to hear what color it is elsewhere, and if anybody has any suggestions around how to change it.

    Kiley was so glad she could help.

    Like

  3. my name is Erin, I have no idea who you are but linked to you from Jenn’s blog. I don’t know who Jenn is, I linked to her from Marty’s blog. I don’t know who Marty is, but I’m following him on twitter because my atheist brother recommended I do so, and any time my atheist brother recommends I follow a pastor, well, I just see that as an open door.

    Like

  4. Thanks for stopping by. I’d noticed you around this happy little family of blogs and was curious.
    Jenn, Marty and I all live in the Northeast. Marty pastors Fellowship Church in Holden, Massachusetts. He’s an amazing human being and a good friend. I wonder if your brother has noticed that we do a live video feed of our services (10:30 Eastern Time, every Sunday) and audios of the last several months of services are also available online. The adress for those is http://www.fellowshipholden.com
    He may not be ready for either of these yet. But I wasn’t a Christian when I began attending Fellowship, and both the music and sermons spoke to me.
    Jenn and Marty have known each other for some time. My friendship with Jenn is a little odd– I’ve met her a few times in the real world but know her much better through blogging. As you’ve noticed, both Marty and Jenn are outstanding writers.

    As for me, I direct small groups for Fellowship Church and teach Special Education to emotionally challenged high school students.
    In case you or your brother care, Both Marty’s blog (and maybe Jenn’s blogs) links to the rest of the lead team for Fellowship. Al blogs once in a blue moon. He leads worship. Billy, about twice in a blue moon. (He leads guest services.) Steve blogs about once every week or two. (He leads family ministries.)

    Like

  5. Maybe I’ll get him down to Holden some Sunday morning, I don’t think we’re THAT far away (we can toss a stone into Portsmouth, NH).

    From what I’ve seen, the worship is awesome…a little Aerosmith, nice!

    Like

  6. Who are you? taliaaaaaaa!
    Do I know you in the real world? nope.
    How did you stumble on my blog? i’m not certain. possibly by tag-surfing?
    Any constructive criticism for me in terms of the stuff that you’d like to see more or less of? no :] but i must say, i am loving your recent posts on homosexuality.
    How often do you stop by? i generally read via wordpress’ blog surfer, so whenever there’s a new post up.

    Like

  7. Who are you?
    I’m Joanna and i’m from Australia

    Do I know you in the real world?
    Very unlikely

    How did you stumble on my blog?
    Via your comment on stuff christians like

    Any constructive criticism for me in terms of the stuff that you’d like to see more or less of?
    Haven’t read enough of it yet to be able to give you proper feedback on that

    How often do you stop by?
    Found it for the first time about half an hour ago

    Like

Leave a Reply

